Back to this life

I’m back in the states. It’s nice to be able to understand people again.

Right before we left, Boaz Dvir (our trip leader) was doing an interview with me for his film about our class. He asked how the adjustment back to American life would be. I thought for a long time before realizing that my time in Guatemala seems like a totally different life. I put up the photos of that life today.

In my American life: Toilet paper goes in the toilet and not the trash. I have a toilet. There are rules on the highway. My Honda Civic is not the nicest car on the road. When I turn on the faucet, I will always have water. My roof doesn’t leak, and the bugs stay outside.

This may seem sappy or cliche, but it’s so true. It’s hard to realized how blessed we are until we live another life.

3 Comments

Filed under Personal

3 responses to “Back to this life

  1. Pardon me, but you sound like you just did not get it! Perhaps, it is your young age and lack of experience and I say this without insulting.

    All those things that you experienced in a remote village of Guatemala can be found in some places of the U.S.A. as well.

    Comparisons are always difficult, but you have try, at least, to compare oranges with oranges. You can not compare a city in Florida with a remote village in Guatemala. You should compare your lifestyle in your home town with the lifestyle you could have in zone 10, 14, 15 in Guatemala City or even in La Antigua Guatemala.

    To paraphrase Charles C. Mann in his book 1491, what we lost with the encounter of the old world with the new world was over 2,000 different ways of being human.

    I recommend you read this article: Haves and Have-Nots

    http://antiguadailyphoto.com/2008/07/22/haves-and-have-nots-recycling-the-world-over/

  2. Alyssa

    I understand the level of poverty in the U.S. I wasn’t trying to deny that the U.S. has terrible problems with poverty as well.
    This was an article of PERSONAL reflection on my adjustment back to the states. I was only talking about my own life, not the majority of Americans. I know how lucky I am. And I’m not saying the two places are anything alike.

  3. Lucky? Well, it all depends on what you want from life. Sometimes you can find satisfaction and live a less stressful like with less.

    Until you really begin questioning whether your lifestyle and the life you have inherit by pure chance or chaos, is right for you and for the rest of the world. Right now, you speak from a comfort zone, a place you are used to and have never questioned. I leave you with another quote from the feedback on the entry: Haves and Have-Nots.

    “I am challenged by your images and reflections, yet I also sit here in my home one year after moving from a comfortable but small (by middle class US standards) home to a comfortable and large home. Why did we move to a bigger home? Because it was available, we could afford it, and we knew it would allow us greater ease in daily living. Individually, it wasn’t a bad choice — but it is part of a much bigger picture that has so much wrong with it.”

Leave a Reply

