Cash flow and flowing water

So the story is about water.

There’s so much that could be said. My job as a journalist is to take everything I know and narrow it down to about 2,000 concise words that describe what I’ve seen and what I’ve learned.

So the writing process begins.

I want to portray that access to clean water (or water at all) for Guatemalans is largely determined by class. And I don’t think this will change much. I found a 1998 case study that summed up a good portion of what I thought.

But this case study doesn’t move anybody. I want people to read my article and see the injustice that I saw.

This water jug in El Modelo hadn't been filled with purified water for months.

This water jug in El Modelo hadn't been filled with purified water in months.

People in El Modelo are stuck in a sort of “hybrid society” (phrase courtesy of filmmaker Isaac Brown, who is working on a similar story). Basically, they have adapted city life but revert to ancient ways when they can’t afford it. Most people buy water off the water truck, but some are forced to drink rain water.

The rural village of La Puerta relies solely on rain and creek water. The middle class city of Estanzuela drinks from the tap, but only between the hours of 5 a.m. and 6 p.m.

Drinking water is readily abundant to the public in America from fountains. Can you even imagine your wealth determining access to water?

I’ve never written an article of this length (or importance). I want it to be just right. We have about a month before the final version is due in class.

Leave a comment

Filed under Guatemalan Social Issue, My Story

Leave a Reply

